Open as PDF
Adjusting System Settings
Adjusting System Settings
Precautions for Transferring Nintendo DSiWare
Only the software itself will be transferred to the target system. Save data is not transferred. Both the software and the save data will
be deleted from the source system. Please be sure that it is OK to have your save data deleted before you start the transfer process.
Note: The data will be saved on the System Memory of the target system. If there is not enough space in the target system’s System Memory, you
will not be able to transfer data. To free up space, go to Data Management in the System Settings to copy any Nintendo DSiWare already saved on
the system to the SD Card and delete them from the System Memory (page 82).
If purchased Nintendo DSiWare has been deleted or copied to an SD Card
If you have purchased any Nintendo DSiWare titles that have subsequently been deleted or copied to an SD Card, you can still transfer
the software even though it is no longer in the System Memory of the source system. For such software, the actual software will
not be transferred to the target system, but it will be downloadable from the Nintendo eShop at no extra cost.
Note: In order to play Nintendo DSiWare titles on the source Nintendo DSi system after they have been transferred, you will need to use
Nintendo DSi Points to purchase them again.
Nintendo DSiWare that is free or is not available on Nintendo eShop cannot be transferred. For details on Nintendo DSiWare that cannot be
transferred, visit the Nintendo website.
You cannot transfer Nintendo DSi Points or any software that was pre-installed on the source Nintendo DSi or Nintendo DSi XL system.
Software that already exists on the target system will not be transferred.
Nintendo DSiWare and save data deleted Nintendo DSiWare (without save data) transferred
Only Account Activity (record of purchased Nintendo DSiWare) transferred
on SD Card
(see note below)
(see note below)
Download from Nintendo eShop at
no extra cost
All of the following data is transferred.
Nintendo 3DS Nintendo 3DS Transfer
Precautions for Transferring
After transferring data, all data on the source system will be deleted. The SD Card from the source system will be usable only with the
Download Software Precautions
Data stored on the target system’s SD Card, such as Nintendo 3DS download software and its save data, will not be usable after the
transfer. The software can be re-downloaded from Nintendo eShop.
Nintendo DSiWare and its save data on the target system’s SD Card should be moved to the target system’s System Memory before
the transfer. It will then remain usable after the transfer.
If the same download software has been downloaded on both systems, its data on the target system’s Account Activity will be
deleted and replaced with the data from the source system. Also, the old save data on the target system (and / or SD Card) will
no longer be usable.
Nintendo eShop Balance Precautions
If the total Nintendo eShop balance of the source and target systems exceeds the maximum allowed funds, the system transfer will
Note: With the exception of Nintendo DSiWare, the data in the target system’s System Memory (e.g. pre-installed application save data) will be
deleted and overwritten with the data from the source system. If you have data such as photos and recordings, copy these to an SD Card rst.
System Memory data deleted System Memory data overwritten
Use the source system’s SD Card with the target system
Nintendo 3DS (Source) Nintendo 3DS (Target)
Transfers Internet Settings (Nintendo DS Connections) and Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection ID.
Transfers data such as the friend list, Nintendo 3DS Camera photos, Nintendo 3DS Sound recordings and
Mii Maker Mii characters from the pre-installed applications on the Nintendo 3DS system.
Nintendo DSiWare Transfers Nintendo DSiWare (and its save data) stored on the System Memory.
SD Card Data Usage Rights
Transfers usage rights for data stored on the SD Card (e.g. download software and its save data, add-on
content, etc.). The SD Card can then be used with the target system.
Nintendo eShop Account
Activity / Balance
Transfers your Nintendo eShop account activity and balance to the target system. This will be merged with
that of the target system.